Honeydew Smoothie

IMG_4307

One of my biggest difficulties on the low-acid diet is the ban on fruits. I used to eat fruit all day, but most varieties have a low pH (less than 4.0) and thus irritate the throat of anyone with heartburn. Mangoes, strawberries, citrus, and peaches used to be my favorites. I hope to eat them in moderation, mixed with other foods, when I’m feeling better. But for now, here’s the list of alkaline, safe-to-eat fruits:

  • bananas
  • watermelon, cantaloupe, & honeydew
  • red apples & ripe pears, in limited quantities

I’ve never eaten much melon—it’s expensive and it takes work to cut. But it certainly beats a fruit-free life! Because I can’t always finish a melon before it goes bad, I’ve been looking for ways to use it frozen.

This is my latest smoothie recipe. It’s well-balanced: The melon is flavorful and sweet (especially if it’s a bit overripe), the banana is creamy, and the spinach adds color (but no veggie aftertaste).

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 1/2 cups frozen honeydew chunks
  • 3/4 cup plain or vanilla soy milk
  • 3/4 cup packed baby spinach
  • 1 small banana, chopped

DIRECTIONS

  1. Blend all ingredients. If you have a small food processor like I do, you may need to get the first few ingredients started and then add spinach and banana as the blender does its work.
  2. Enjoy!

Serves 1 to 2.

Leave a Reply

