Mostly Egg White Scramble

IMG_4523

When my sister-in-law gave me a dozen eggs fresh from her backyard chickens, I knew I’d be having hot breakfasts all week. I don’t normally buy organic, cage-free eggs, and I’m sure the ones I get in the grocery store haven’t been laid in the last couple of days! So this was a treat.

IMG_4524

I haven’t made eggs often since starting the reflux diet. I used to put a lot of black pepper on my eggs, and it took time to adjust to not having that. This egg scramble uses dried Italian herbs, mushrooms, and spinach to make up for the lack of pepper. It’s been a couple of months, so by now my tongue is used to not having that spicy kick.

Since low-fat meals are an important part of eating for heartburn, I made breakfast with 3 eggs but only 1 egg yolk. This is a good compromise between a full-yolk dish (too much fat) and an all-whites dish (not as tasty, and unappealing in appearance). These cooked eggs are less yellow than normal ones, but I didn’t notice a difference in taste.

I did notice a difference in the home-grown eggs! The whites were less runny than usual; these eggs really stay together after you crack them. They would be ideal for poaching or for cooking sunny-side up.

INGREDIENTS

  • 1/4 cup sliced baby bella mushrooms, chopped
  • 1/2 cup packed baby spinach
  • 3 eggs
  • splash of plain soy milk or skim milk
  • sea salt
  • dried basil, oregano, and thyme (or Italian seasoning)

IMG_4520

DIRECTIONS

  1. Heat a medium nonstick skillet over medium heat. Add cooking spray and the mushrooms and saute until they brown and shrink, about 5 minutes.
  2. Add spinach and a few drops of water, and stir until wilted.
  3. In a small bowl, beat 1 whole egg and 2 egg whites. (Discard the 2 extra egg yolks.) Add a splash of milk, salt to taste, and a few shakes each of basil, oregano, and thyme.
  4. Drop heat to low in the skillet and add the eggs. Allow one side to set, and then scramble with a spatula. Cook to desired consistency.
  5. Serve on whole-grain toast or with a side of melon.

IMG_4522

Serves 1. Adapted from http://www.refluxcookbookblog.com/2011/05/01/the-good-egg-omelets-for-acid-reflux/

Leave a Reply

