b.good: Turkey Burger & Seasonal Vegetables

IMG_4597

The New England chain b.good serves burgers, salads, and milkshakes with a focus on local ingredients. They have really delicious burgers and fries—but I went this time on a mission to keep my heartburn in check. This meant avoiding red meat and foregoing acidic condiments such as ketchup, mustard, and BBQ sauce.

I wasn’t in the mood for salad, so I ordered the lowest-fat options I could find: a turkey burger and a side of vegetables. The seasonal burger special came topped with corn salsa and avocado. I was surprised to see that the salsa included tomato, but I picked off some of the pieces and ate the burger anyway. The salsa had a lot more lime juice than I expected, so it wasn’t a good choice for a low-acid diet.

IMG_4598

The side of vegetables included broccolini, mushrooms, and cherry tomatoes. I immediately picked out the tomatoes and the few pieces of garlic. The rest of the dish was delicious, lightly sauteed broccolini with a few fancy mushrooms (possibly oyster?) to add texture and flavor. What a treat!

IMG_4596

I appreciate that b.good’s burgers are reasonably portioned and that they come on a whole-wheat bun. It’s also great to have a choice of side dish that isn’t deep fried. That’s why I’m declaring this meal a restaurant WIN, even though the salsa wasn’t ideal for heartburn. Next time I’ll perfect my strategy by ordering a turkey burger topped with lettuce and sauteed mushrooms.

Leave a Reply

