Gingered Kale & Eggplant Soup

IMG_4819

Now that it’s completely dark after work and the wintery winds are blowing, I’ve been craving big, warm bowls of dinner. This evening I stopped by the market with the idea of throwing a bunch of produce into a pot. I added lots of fresh ginger, soy sauce, and lemon zest to the dish to give it a Chinese feel.

The recipes on this blog are meant for health nuts, junk food junkies, and everyone in between. That’s why I need to include a warning here: If you don’t love veggies, you might not love this soup.

When I first ladled this soup into my bowl, I thought it might be a failed recipe (or at least not good enough for the blog)—but I really enjoyed it. It’s simple, and it solves a serious problem in winter cooking: How do you make soup without onions, garlic, peppers, or tomatoes? In addition, this soup is nearly fat free, and I imagine it has at least 10 grams of fiber per serving. Cupping the bowl in my hands and letting the steam hit my face, I felt cozy and completely satisfied. I look forward to having the leftovers for lunch all week.

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 medium eggplant, diced small
  • 4 cups low-sodium chicken or vegetable broth
  • 1 medium Yukon gold potato
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 bunch kale
  • 1 carrot, thinly sliced
  • 1/2 inch grated fresh ginger
  • zest of 1/2 a lemon
  • low-sodium soy sauce (gluten-free if desired)
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 2 tsp olive oil

DIRECTIONS

  1. Preheat the oven to 425 degrees. Line a large baking sheet with foil and cooking spray. Add the eggplant in a single layer and cover with cooking spray. Roast for 30 minutes. IMG_4810
  2. Boil the broth in a large pan (not nonstick). Peel and dice the potato, and add it to the boiling broth with the bay leaf. Simmer for 20 minutes. Remove the bay leaf, and mash the potatoes with a fork until nearly smooth.
  3. Remove the kale leaves from the stems, and rip them into small pieces. Add the kale and carrots to the broth. Cover and boil for 3 minutes; then stir until the kale wilts. Cover again and simmer for 10 minutes, until carrots are soft. IMG_4812
  4. Add the eggplant, ginger, lemon zest, 2 tbsp soy sauce, onion powder, oregano, and olive oil, and simmer for 5 minutes. Add more soy sauce to taste and serve.

IMG_4818

Serves 5.

2 responses

  1. this GERD lady loved this recipe although I could NOT find in the text when to add the egg plant. I added it wit #4 at the end to simmer 5 min more. I also added 1/2 cup of raw couscous cooked, as I always like a little starch. I had a sample-the-soup luncheon for my lady friends and it was a real hit. For my gerd it is a real gem. Thank you, but please clarify the egg plant addition time. Janet Chilelli

    • Thank you for your comments, Janet — and I added an instruction about the eggplant. I also added it in Step 4 like you did. I’m glad you enjoyed the soup! I’d like to make this one again soon.

Leave a Reply

