Raspberry-Ginger Power Muffins

IMG_4690

It’s time to celebrate, for berries have reentered my life! I’ve been avoiding berries due to their high acidity—but I recently flipped through Dropping Acid: The Reflux Cookbook and Cure and noticed that raspberries have a pH of 4.2. This is just above the cutoff of 4.0, under which foods are very abrasive to the throat. As long as I feel healthy, raspberries are on the menu!

For my first berry-burst recipe, I baked healthy muffins that work for breakfast, a snack, or dessert. They’re moist and sweet with a hint of spice in the background from the ginger. I tried this recipe twice, and I’m on the fence about whether to add a bit more sugar. I decided against it since these are a breakfast for me, rather than a dessert. But an extra tablespoon of brown sugar is welcome here.

I call these power muffins because they’re made with quinoa, oat flour, and bananas. Thus, they have more protein and nutrients than muffins made with wheat flour. They’re also gluten free! These freeze and refrigerate well, so I like to make a batch in anticipation of a busy week.

IMG_4679

INGREDIENTS

  • 1/2 cup dry quinoa
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 1/3 cups oat flour (gluten-free if desired)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp ground ginger
  • 2 ripe bananas, mashed
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 tbsp unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 tsp freshly grated ginger
  • 1 cup frozen raspberries, thawed

DIRECTIONS

  1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Line a standard cupcake pan with paper liners, or spray with cooking spray.
  2. Rinse the quinoa under cool water, rubbing it with your fingers to remove the bitter coating. Mix with 1 cup of water in a saucepan and bring to a boil. Drop the heat to a simmer for 15 to 20 minutes or until all liquid is absorbed. Move quinoa into a bowl in the fridge to cool.
  3. Mix the oat flour, baking powder, salt, and ground ginger in a small bowl.
  4. In a large bowl, mix the bananas, brown sugar, eggs, vanilla, applesauce, and fresh ginger until well blended. Mash any remaining large banana chunks with a fork.
  5. Mix the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients just until incorporated.
  6. Stir in 1 cup of cooked quinoa (you will have some left over) and the raspberries.
  7. Add a heaping 1/4 cup of batter to each cupcake liner. Bake at 375 degrees for 20 minutes. IMG_4681
  8. Allow to cool in the pan for at least 1 hour. If you used paper liners, allow the muffins to cool completely before trying to unpeel the liners.
2 responses

  1. Hi Paula! We are baking for you over here today :). I’m thinking about making some blondies with sunbutter and honey–would that be fine? Do you try to avoid regular butter? I don’t know much about what’s low-acid so I’ve been googling a few things, but just wanted to check!
    P.S. These muffins look delicious!

    • Sounds delicious! I avoid butter but mostly in a quest to make lower-fat baked goods. Thanks for baking for me and for asking. No doubt I would try any snacks that show up at the office, but this way I won’t regret it later 🙂

Leave a Reply

