Creamy Triple Mushroom Soup

IMG_5017

This soup has more mushroom flavor than any dish I’ve ever had. It reminds me of the mushroom pierogi my Mom gets from the Polish deli at Christmastime. I go nuts over those things, and I was thrilled by the bold flavor of this soup. As my first time using dried mushrooms, it turned out so well.

Mushrooms are satiating in the way meat is, and this was a great recipe to make during my meat-free January. However, I ran into the same issue I have with meat: After a certain amount, I just can’t eat any more. Maybe it’s too much umami, or perhaps my body only accepts my beloved carbs after a certain point.

Anyway, I wasn’t able to eat a full bowl of this a dinner soup. Instead, I had a small serving of it with a salad (lightly dressed with olive oil and rice vinegar). I recommend serving this as a first course—but if you have company, make sure they like mushrooms!

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 oz mixed dried mushrooms (I used porcini, shiitake & oyster)
  • 3 1/2 cups low-sodium vegetable or chicken broth
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 large carrot, thinly sliced
  • 8 oz white mushrooms, sliced
  • 12 oz baby bella mushrooms, sliced
  • 1 1/2 tsp dried thyme
  • 3/4 tsp dried oregano
  • 1/2 tsp onion powder
  • 4 tsp flour
  • 1 1/4 cups 1% milk
  • 1 tbsp miso paste
  • 1 cup packed mixed greens (I used baby spinach, kale & chard)
  • 1/4 cup fresh parsley leaves, plus more for garnish
  • 1 tsp rice vinegar
  • sea salt

DIRECTIONS

  1. Rinse the dried mushrooms under warm water. Boil the broth in medium saucepan and remove from heat. Add the dried mushrooms and let them soak for 15 minutes. Drain through a fine-mesh strainer into a bowl, reserving the broth but discarding any sediment. Coarsely chop the dried mushrooms. IMG_5008
  2. While mushrooms are soaking, heat the olive oil in a large pot over medium. Add the carrots and cook for 5 minutes. Add the white and baby bella mushrooms and saute until browned, about 8 minutes. (Add a splash of water if it looks like they will burn.) Add the thyme, oregano, onion powder, and dried mushrooms and saute for 2 minutes.
  3. Sprinkle the flour over the mushrooms; stir for 1 minute. IMG_5011
  4. Stir in the reserved broth and then the milk. Bring to a boil, stirring frequently. Reduce the heat to medium-low, and add the miso paste and greens. Simmer for 15 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add the parsley and cook for 1 minute. IMG_5015
  5. Turn off the heat and stir in the rice vinegar. Use an immersion blender to puree the soup until completely smooth. Add salt to taste (I did 10 grinds from a sea salt grinder), and serve sprinkled with parsley leaves.
Serves 6. Active time 35 minutes; total time 50 minutes. Adapted from http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Wild-Mushroom-Soup-106299
Leave a Reply

